All products from Closed



Basically, the idea that launched Closed in 1968, was quite simple: to create the first Italian Denim label. That was it. That's it, in French in the text. IT. And here is their first name, perfect for a brand that wanted to offer practical sportswear of radical design. The two French stylists  (and legends) Marithé and François Girbaud are convinced and decide to launch the brand, ancestor of Closed. A unique and different concept. But trouble begins when an international chain of clothing stores (we don't need to say their name...) does not like this name at all and files a complaint, bearing the number 11342.  So why not take this number as a name? Ultimate thumb of the nose. As soon as said, as soon as done.

Two years later the case was closed. Or as they say in English legal jargon, Closed. The name has remained, until today, not to forget the revolutionary origins of the brand. Closed is a brand that has never forgotten its origins, that has been innovating for decades and that is at the forefront of fashion. And that's why we love it a lot at Dapper. A protean chameleon that has defied the years, styles, trends, and surprises us with each new collection. The invention of X-Pockets (inclined at 33 degrees to allow easier access), it is them in 1978. The iconic Pedal and Pusher jeans are still them. Think of the craziest jeans you've seen, there's a good chance that Closed is behind it, and that the idea is germinated in the Girbauds' heads. 

The brand was sold in the early 90s to the Germans Hans Leplow and Günther Giers, partners in Hamburg, then taken over in 2001 by Günther Giers' son, Gordon and Til Nadler and Hans Redlefsen, his friends. 

French inspiration, Italian know-how, German tradition - all these influences transport their products all over the world and have ensured its longevity in the complex world of fashion. They shape the brand, its operation, its way of producing and thinking about clothing.

Because Closed also knows how to reinvent herself, and think of new ways to produce her clothes. And we also like it a lot at Dapper: when a big brand, more than 50 years old, decides to shake up its production methods, its supply areas, to adopt a more responsible and environmentally friendly operation, while maintaining its inimitable style. Because when a big brand embarks on such a process, we can only applaud and support it. This gives their label, A Better Blue, collection of ecological denim, based on a growing share of organic cotton and innovative materials with low ecological impact (Tencel type, from recycled wood and cotton scrap, to make cellulose fibers).

This is also reflected geographically with 80% of their production now based in Europe, because they find the best quality, ancient know-how and the shortest distances. They have long-standing partners with whom they work on continuity with several generations of employees. Their cotton yarn and fabrics come from Europe (Italy for the most part), the finest silk comes from China, their cotton is made in Portugal or Romania. All their Denim canvas is woven, sewn and washed out in Italy (this has been the case since their first pair of jeans). Their canvas is woven by Candiani, the masters in Italy, with a traditional spinning mill and with 40% organic cotton. Then the company Everest takes care of the washing using new innovative and ecological processes without water, polluting chemicals and with very low electricity consumption). And finally Paul SPA sews their jeans (since 1968). The advantage with these 3 companies? They form the Denim triangle of Closed, and are located only a few dozen kilometers from each other in northern Italy. It is also with them that Closed developed the label A Better Blue. 

Closed But the little plus is also their collaboration with new brands, a way to keep the freshness and creativity of their beginnings, and to constantly put the work back on the job. Whether with the Swiss eyewear manufacturer VIU, the Japanese luxury brand United Arrows, the Bergdorf Goodman department store, or the Italian Société Anonyme for a great streetwear collection, or this year with the British Nigel Cabourn, they are constantly pushing their limits. 

There are 66 products.

Display 1-60 of 66 item(s)

Register

New Account Register

Already have an account?
Log in instead Or Reset password

Tous les produits de Closed



A la base, l'idée qui a lancé Closed en 1968, était toute simple : créer le premier label de Denim Italien. That was it. C'est ça, en français dans le texte. ÇA. Et voilà leur premier nom, parfait pour une marque qui souhaitait proposer des vêtements de sport pratiques du design radical. Les deux stylistes  (et légendes) français Marithé et François Girbaud en sont convaincus et décident de lancer la marque, ancêtre de Closed. Un concept unique et différent. Mais les ennuis commencent quand une chaîne internationale de magasins de vêtements (on n'a pas besoin de dire leur nom...) n'apprécie pas du tout cette appellation et dépose une plainte, portant le numéro 11342. ÇA doit changer de nom. Pourquoi donc ne pas prendre ce numéro pour nom ? Ultime pied de nez. Aussitôt dit, aussitôt fait.

Deux ans plus tard l'affaire est close. Ou comme on dit en jargon juridique anglais, Closed. Le nom est resté, jusqu'à aujourd'hui, pour ne pas oublier les origines révolutionnaires de la marque. Closed est une marque qui n'a jamais oublié ses origines, qui ne cessent d'innover depuis des décennies et qui se situe à l'avant-garde de la mode. Et c'est pour ça qu'on l'aime beaucoup chez Dapper. Un caméléon protéiforme qui a défié les années, les styles, les tendances, et nous surprend à chaque nouvelle collection. L'invention des X-Pockets (inclinés à 33 degré pour permettre un accès plus facile), c'est eux en 1978. Les iconiques jeans Pedal et Pusher, c'est encore eux. Pensez aux jeans les plus fous que vous avez pu voir, il y a de fortes chances que Closed en soit à l'origine, et que l'idée est germée dans la tête des Girbaud. 

La marque est vendue au début des années 90 aux allemands Hans Leplow et Günther Giers, partenaires à Hambourg, puis reprise en 2001 par le fils de Günther Giers, Gordon et Til Nadler et Hans Redlefsen, ses amis. 

Inspiration française, savoir-faire italien, tradition allemande - toutes ces influences transportent leurs produits dans le monde entier et lui ont assuré sa longévité dans le monde complexe de la mode. Elles façonnent la marque, son fonctionnement, sa façon de produire et de penser le vêtement.

Parce que Closed sait aussi se réinventer, et penser de nouvelles façons de produire ses vêtements. Et ça on aime aussi beaucoup chez Dapper : quand une grande marque, vieille de plus de 50 ans, décident de chambouler ses méthodes de production, ses zones d'approvisionnement, pour adopter un fonctionnement plus responsable et respectueux de l'environnement, tout en conservant son style inimitable. Parce que lorsqu'une grande marque s'embarque dans une telle démarche, on ne peut que l'applaudir et la soutenir. Cela donne leur label, A Better Blue, collection de denim écologique, à base d'une part croissante de coton biologique et de matériaux innovants à faible impact écologique (type Tencel, à partir de bois et de chutes de coton recyclés, pour fabriquer des fibres de cellulose).

Cela se traduit aussi au niveau géographique avec 80% de leur production à présent basé en Europe, parce qu'ils y trouvent la meilleure qualité, des savoirs-faire anciens et les distances les plus courtes. Ils ont des partenaires de longues dates avec qui ils travaillent sur la continuité avec plusieurs générations de salariés. Leur fils de coton et tissus proviennent d'Europe (Italie en grande partie), la soie la plus fine vient de Chine, leur coton est fait au Portugal ou en Roumanie. Toute leur toile Denim est tissée, cousue et délavée en Italie (c'est le cas depuis leur premier jean). Leur toile est tissée par Candiani, les maîtres en Italie, avec une filature traditionnelle et avec 40% de coton biologique. Puis la compagnie Everest se charge du lavage à l'aide de nouveaux procédés innovants et écologiques sans eau, ni produits chimiques polluants et à très faible consommation en électricité). Et enfin Paul SPA coud leur jeans (depuis 1968). L'avantage avec ces 3 compagnies ? Elles forment le triangle du Denim de Closed, et ne sont situés qu'à quelques dizaines de kilomètres les unes des autres dans le nord de l'Italie. C'est avec eux aussi que Closed a développé le label A Better Blue. 

Cela fait déjà beaucoup de raisons d'aimer Closed. Mais le petit plus, c'est aussi leurs collaborations avec de nouvelles marques, une façon de garder la fraîcheur et la créativité de leur début, et de sans cesse remettre l'ouvrage sur le métier. Que ce soit avec le lunetier Suisse VIU, la marque de luxe Japonaise United Arrows, le grand magasin Bergdorf Goodman, ou les italiens de Société Anonyme pour une super collection streetwear, ou cette année avec le britannique Nigel Cabourn, ils repoussent sans cesse leurs limites. 

Il y a 32 des produits.

Affichage 1-32 de 32 article(s)

registre

Nouveau compte S'inscrire